The Workforce Information Advisory Council's Scheduled Meetings

a man and two women sitting around a table holding papers

The Workforce Innovation and Opportunity Act (WIOA) mandated the creation of the Workforce Information Advisory Council (WIAC), an advisory committee charged with providing focused and specialized leadership on labor market information and the national workforce system.

Scheduled Meetings of the WIAC

A new log-in link was published in the Federal Register for the WIAC virtual meeting on February 8, 2016.

The WIAC held its first meeting in July of 2016 in Washington, DC.  Detailed agendas for its meetings, and notices of opportunity for members of the public to address the WIAC, are available on WIAC's homepage.

About the WIAC Committee for Labor Market Information

The WIAC is made up of workforce and labor market information (LMI) experts, who address the evaluation and improvement of the nationwide workforce and labor market information system, and statewide systems that comprise the nationwide system by:

  1. Studying workforce and labor market information issues;
  2. Seeking and sharing information on innovative approaches, new technologies, and data to inform employment, skills training, and workforce and economic development decision-making and policy-making; and
  3. Advising the Secretary on how the labor market information system can best support workforce development activities, planning and program development.


The WIAC Mission and Membership under WIOA

The WIAC provides LMI recommendations to the Secretary of Labor, working jointly through the Assistant Secretary for Employment and Training Administration (ETA), and the Commissioner of Labor Statistics.

The recommendations address the evaluation and improvement of federal and state workforce and LMI systems, and how the department and the states will cooperate in the management of those data systems.

The 14-member WIAC includes:

  • Four state workforce information or labor market information directors,
  • Four state workforce agency administrators, and
  • One member representing each of the following constituent groups:
    • Business
    • Economic Development
    • Labor Organizations
    • WIOA Title I training providers
    • Local workforce development boards
    • University or research entities.

Geographic diversity requirements do not permit any two of the members representing state and local workforce boards to come from the same state.



Post Information

Views: 88
Posted: 2/2/2017 8:31 PM
Posted By: Teresa Theis
Posted In: LMI Central
Like Share Print Email